My Heaviest Weight Ever

Wow! I’m at my heaviest weight ever. If the scale I bought at WalMart is to be believed I weigh 262 pounds. I’m only 5 feet 9 inches tall. According to this chart I should be no heavier than 176 pounds. I lifted weights, heavy weights from elementary school up until about 10 years ago so I do have more muscle mass than the average person, but since I didn’t change my eating habits after I quit lifting due to an injury and a bad attitude, I’ve gained 40 pounds.

I’m nearly 100 pounds over the “ideal” weight for a person my height. That’s almost like I’m carrying around another person. I remember in fifth grade I was 5′ or 5’1″ and about 100 pounds. So, I’m carrying a fifth grader around with me all day every day!

At the beginning of the summer I started having knee problems. For the months before that I had been walking 5 to 7 days a week and doing some bodyweight exercises, mainly Combat Conditioning, and tai-chi. I was getting in shape. The knee pain severely curtailed my activity which led to more weight gain. Then near the end of the summer as the pain was subsiding, I really injured my knee. That resulted in surgery and more inactivity until I started physical therapy. Did that for about two months, but it mainly focused on my knee and lower body.

I started to do the 100 Pushups training program, but decided I need to do more of an all around workout. I had been toying with the idea of following Turbulence Training for many months. The inventor of TT, Craig Ballantyne, published the book Just Say No to Cardio which I bought. This also gave me access to his membership site and many of the workouts he has devised. I downloaded several. So, on Saturday 20081206, I started my Turbulence Training Odyssey to a slimmer me. Yesterday I read Eat Stop Eat and will follow that plan, too.

Here are all the workouts I’ve done so far. I’m starting from ground zero as if I was a totaly sedentary person, which I nearly am seeing as how I work in front of a computer all day every day.

20081206

Intro Level Workout Week 1 Day 1 Workout A
All of the exercises are done in superset or circuit fashion.
Warmup A) Lying Hip Extension 2×5
Warmup B) Kneeling Pushup 2×5
Warmup C) Stability Ball Leg Curl 2×5

1A) Lying Hip Extension 2×5
1B) Plank 2X15 secs

2A) Bodyweight Squat 2×10
2B) Bird Dog 2×5/side

3A) Kneeling Pushups 2×8
3B) Side Plank 2×5 secs / side

4A) Stick-ups 2×10
4B) Ab Curl-up 2×6

Beginner Interval Workout A, full 20 minutes on stationary bike with arm pump handles.

20081207

I took my Black German Shepherd/Chow mutt, Shadow for a 30 minute walk. He is 1 yr. old and full of energy and not really used to the leash. He gave me a workout!

20081208

While at work I took two 15 minute breaks and walked 6 blocks during each of those breaks.

20081209

Warmup A) Lying Hip Extension 2×5
Warmup B) Kneeling Pushup 2×5
Warmup C) Stability Ball Leg Curl 2×5

1A) Step-ups 2×8 / side
1B) Stick-ups 2X12

2A) Stability Ball Leg Curl 2×8
2B) Kneeling Pushups 2×8/side

3A) Prisoner Squats 2×10
3B) Side Plank 2×10 secs / side

Beginner Interval Workout A, full 20 minutes on stationary bike with arm pump handles.

That’s it so far. I’ll continue with light activity of walking Thursday and Friday before routine A on Saturday. I won’t eat from 6PM today until 6PM tomorrow. I’ll fast again Friday 6PM to Saturday 6PM. The pounds will melt away. I won’t post the workouts in such detail again. Just wanted to give you all an idea of what I’m doing.

8 Comments to “My Heaviest Weight Ever”

  1. hey, charles

    just catching up on your fitness challenge. i have lost 55 pounds, however, it took me a year and a half total. mostly this year. i noticed you talking about fasting, and i just wanted to suggest that may not be a good way to go. weight loss is HARD but basic math. take in less calories than you expend. i joined activate greenville in jan, 08 and committed to going to the Y. they have weekly weight-ins the first three months to keep you on track. i work out at least five days a week, and cardio worked for me. the variation of programs and levels at the Y is great for beginners thru advanced. they have water aerobics (for your knee), moderate to intense cardio, weight training, personal training, the works. and the camaraderie is the added bonus. i belong to the taylors Y which is close to you guys. if you want to come take a look, let me know and i’ll get a free pass for you. losing weight is the hardest most committed thing i’ve EVER done ( childbirth was harder, but the commitment and outcome was pretty much a given – smile). good luck!

    • @Robyn! Thanks for the tips. LEB told me you had lost a tremendous amount of weight. Congratulations!

      I’ve been a fitness/weightlifting/nutrition nut since I read Arnold’s The Education of a Bodybuilder way, way back, maybe 5th grade? I know I got my first weight set and bench in either 5th or 6th grade. It doesn’t look like it now, but it’s true.

      I’ve continued to read and research all along. The things that have made most sense to me are resistance training, intervals, a clean diet and most lately the approach outlined in Eat Stop Eat. I’ll put a copy online somewhere so you can read it. You can also borrow my copy of Just Say No to Cardio if you like. You may not agree with the ideas but it is worth it to read both.

      BTW, the author of Eat Stop Eat is a nutritionist and worked in the supplement industry for years before leaving because he just didn’t agree w/ how supplements and so called functional foods were marketed. The ebook cites the various scientific studies he drew upon to come up with this plan.

  2. Welcome to TT Charles! Let me know how I can help.

    Craig

  3. Everything you are doing is good, one suggestion, dont fast, instead take a light meal, say like salad, raw veges or fruits. When you fast, you should make it your lifestyle, else it will make you gain more pounds. Wishing you the best in making a consistent effort. 🙂

    • @mysoul Thanks for the encouragement. The fast is a lifestyle change. It’s a conscious decision based on the science presented in the book Eat Stop Eat.

  4. I went to their website…it will work since it is a lifestyle change. I plan on losing about 30 lbs over the next year(thats really a low expectation). I am sticking to a one hour/300-400 cals burn 5 days a week. I really love food, its my only vice. So I cant see myself fasting but I know I can skip one meal, so maybe some day fasting 24 hours would be a reality for me.

    • @mysoul I love food, too! In Eat Stop Eat the author Brad Pilon suggests starting your fast just before dinner time, say 6PM and then ending 24 hours later. That way you don’t miss eating on any given calendar day. Sort of a psychological trick to make it easier. See how I did w/ my first attempt.

  5. Hey, hope this comment gets through I’m still pretty new to this whole blogging thing.
    great post! I discovered your blog while
    Googling other people’s weight loss stories. I’ve actually just started blogging about
    my weight loss calculator – I lost over 30 pounds in a month
    with a diet I developed!

    I would really appreciate it if you could stop by my weight loss blog and let me know what you think.
    Warmest wishes,
    -Joan

Leave a Reply

