Think Like a Computer Scientist – Python

For a long time I’ve wanted to really learn Python. Not just a cursory understanding but really learn it. So, today I downloaded How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python. This is not the first time I ahve done so. But this time I resolve to read and work through a chapter a day until I I’ve finished the book. Today I read and worked through the Introduction, Preface and Chapter 1.

There is a more recent edition of the book which has been renamed to Think Python. I think I’ll stick with the older edition and then blaze threw the newer edition. I also downloaded Bruce Eckel’s Thinking in Python, but that is not for beginners in Python. I’ll move on to that later. I do have a bachelor’s degree in computer science, btw. However, it’s been a long time since I worked as a programmer or software engineer. When I’m working in IT these days, it’s usually as a Linux/UNIX systems administrator.

Leave a Reply

