Quote of the Day 20080507

“The unthankful heart discovers no mercies; but let the thankful heart sweep through the day and, as the magnet finds the iron, so it will find, in every hour, some heavenly blessings!” — Henry Ward Beecher 1813-1887, Author, Clergyman, Abolitionist

This quote was in my email inbox from yesterday, but I just read it today. Talk about synchronicity. It was on my mind to write a separate post today on being thankful. You see, today started out not so good. I allowed myself to get annoyed with MJB because he was messing around and missed his opportunity to have LEB drive him to school. So, since we only have one vehicle right now, I had to walk him to school and of course he was late.

After that, I figured I might as well go on and get my walk in, but I didn’t bring my CD player. So, my mind was unoccupied. I cannot yet stay present in the moment for an entire 40 to 60 minute walk and my mind has a way of going down negative paths when unoccupied. I recognized it happening and tried to keep switching my attention to the beauty of the trees, flowers, bushes, lawns and houses. I really do live in a wonderful neighborhood. But the mind has a mind of it’s own!

Then, I turned onto a street and there was a in home health care professional out at the end of a driveway with a child in a motorized wheel chair. The child also had a tracheotomy, and a little breathing tube. I had been thinking about my somewhat achy back, my hamstring which was still tight from a strong cramp the day before, and everything bad and wrong with my life. Then here is a child with so many more and severe physical problems than anything I have. Made me feel kinda’ bad for being mopey.

So, I began to give thanks for being able to walk and breathe on my own. I gave thanks for being able to speak, because it seemed that he couldn’t. Right now I’m praying and hoping that the child will be miraculously healed and able to live a full and productive life. I’m focusing on the good things I have and do, no matter how small. I’m being grateful for it all.

Leave a Reply

