Quotes of the Day 20080320

“We must look for the opportunity in every difficulty instead of being paralyzed at the thought of the difficulty in every opportunity.” — Walter E. Cole, Korean War Hero

This is a great quote, something I need to take to heart. Even after nearly 5 years of continuous personal development this is still one of my shortcomings. I still allow myself to be paralyzed at the thought of the difficulty inherent in certain situations. Or to put it another way, I’ve found myself fearful and unwilling to face up to what I know I need to do. Have you ever found yourself feeling that way? I’ve read Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway, but I’m just not doing it 😦 How do you overcome the fear and paralysis?

One Comment to “Quotes of the Day 20080320”

  1. I so get this. I have the classic avoidance syndrome/procrastinate when I fear something. I fear not getting the desired result or making an error that I cant go back on or failing.

    How do I overcome it? It depends on the what I need to do. Most times I tell myself, that I should at least dedicate my efforts for a minimum of 3 months before I state “I give up” and that If I say “I give up” before I try then I am being a negative example for the young ones in my family. Being a Parent, I cant afford to be a negative example for my kids.

Leave a Reply

