Quote of the Day 20080206

“In proportion to the development of his individuality, each person becomes more valuable to others. “ John Stuart Mill 1806 – 1873, Philosopher

As I develop my individual potential by pursuit of excellence in the areas of my interest I become more valuable to those around me. What an excellent side effect. But it’s just that a side effect. I should seek to grow not so much for the benefit of others but for the benefit to myself. See Ayn Rand’s The Virtue of Selfishness.

I don’t agree with everything Rand has to say, but I do believe that you should seek the best for yourself and of yourself for your own pleasure and growth. Why? Because you deserve it. You deserve happiness and fulfillment. Go for it and do what it takes as long as you don’t harm anyone else in the Pursuit of Happyness.

Leave a Reply

