Quote of the Day 20080205

“If a person gets his attitude toward money straight, it will help straighten out almost every other area in his life.” — Billy Graham, Evangelical Christian Preacher

I believe that Billy Graham’s statement is largely correct and in order to get my attitude about money straight I’ve been reading Your Money or Your Life by Joe Dominguez and Vicki Robin. It has really been an enlightening book. I checked it out from the library, one of the many methods they suggest in the book to save money, but this is a book we should and will own.

So, I’ve been thinking about money. It’s been my goal for several years to make so much money that I don’t have to worry about keeping up with how I spend it. I guess you could say I’m a natural spendthrift. However, I was reminded of something while listening to Bill Harris interview John Assaraf for an interview series entitled The Masters of the Secret. John Assaraf said:

John DeMartini says, “The universe doesn’t give you more money to manage until you manage the money that it’s given you well.”

So, that’s also a principle in Your Money or Your Life. The book has nine steps, sorta like AA, and one of the nine steps calls for you to keep track of every penny you spend. That’s not something I’ve wanted to do. However, the program outlined in the book has helped many people achieve financial independence without the people making huge extra amounts of money. So, what if I tackle this thing from both ends? Learn and practice the nine steps and continue to increase my income at the same time? I’ll be managing my relatively small amount of money well, so the universe will open it’s coffers for me. What a pleasant thought.

Leave a Reply

