Quote of the Day 20080131

“If money is your hope for independence you will never have it. The only real security that a man will have in this world is a reserve of knowledge, experience, and ability.” — Henry Ford 1863 – 1947, Founder of the Ford Motor Company

My parents often stressed the importance of education via the often heard maxim, “What you learn, no one can ever take away from you. You can lose houses, cars, even relationships, but what you know, no one can take.” I wonder how many people really understand that?

How many people engage in a continuous learning process after they’ve finished school? Do you read ten pages of a book that will help you get better in some area of your life everyday? Most people don’t read at all, and those that do usually read only for entertainment and not learning. I’ve heard it quoted that 48% of people never read another book after high school. I’ve also heard it quoted that at least 1 billion people on the planet cannot read. If you can read, but chose not to, you are really no better off than those 1 billion people who cannot read.

That’s a bitter pill to swallow isn’t it? There are books on every conceivable subject from bettering your relationships, to better your health, or finance or bonsai, or learning Spanish or you name the subject. You can at least begin to learn about anything with books. And again, at least in the USA, a library card is free. If you don’t like to read, begin with books on tape or CD. I love my public library and I’ve been wearing them out!

Of course if you combine reading 10 pages of a good book a day and listening to 30 minutes of an audio program a day, in a month you will probably finish a book and have listened to 900 minutes of audio programs. Now multiple that by 12 months and after a year you’ve read 12 books and listened to 10,800 minutes of audio. If it’s all on the same subject, you will have placed yourself in league with the experts in the field you’ve chosen to study! Imagine if you applied all that new knowledge to your everyday life, how different your life could be a year from now!

5 Comments to “Quote of the Day 20080131”

  1. I bumbled in here, wanted to let you know, I am in agreement with your thoughts. Non-fiction reading isnt something that most people like doing, its requires consistent effort to learn and apply what you read, within the framework of life. The easy way out is to read for entertainment or not read at all.

  2. @mysoul: I assume you are a reader not only for entertainment but also for learning. What are you reading now? How do you apply what you’ve learned to your life?

  3. Presently reading Don Miguel Ruiz(The mastery of love) and Paulo Coelho(The Zahir and The warrior of light). Hmm, how I have applied what I have learned in my life? its a question that I cant pin point the answer except for needlecrafts, cooking recipes. I like learning about discoveries in science, Archeology/History, effects of civilization on environment, new/old ways of creating art, music, religious philosophies etc.

  4. @mysoul: I’ve heard of Don Miguel Ruiz, but not read anything by him. I think his work was listed as suggested reading by Joe Vitale author of The Attractor Factor, and maybe by James Ray, too. Both Vitale and Ray were featured in the movie The Secret.

    As for Paulo Coehlo, I’ve only read The Alchemist.
    That was great. I’ve got a huge stack of books by my bed to read right now, but maybe by the summer I can get back to Coehlo and start in on Ruiz.

  5. This is the second book by Ruiz that I am reading the other was “The four agreements”. I watched “The Secret” last week.

    The Alchemist, was a really enjoyable read, I read it sometime last year after a friend insisted I would enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

